Innovations 2008 and Back to San Antonio!

13 10 2008
Saturday Blog Cabin Blocks Participants

Saturday Blog Cabin Blocks Participants

The View from the 23rd Floor, Hotel Murano, Tacoma, WA

The View from the 23rd Floor, Hotel Murano, Tacoma, WA

 

The last day of Innovations was Saturday and it was, as had been the case of the other days, a great day to learn and meet new people. I taught another class of fantastic folks (their picture is included today) and had the opportunity to take a class taught by Kim Stotzenberg. She gave us wonderful tips and some lovely designs that I will be suggesting to my customers; they will be a perfect addition to their quilts, I am sure.

One new thing that I am going to further investigate is a program by SewBatik. This company is present at shows and sells their awesome batiks through representatives as well. Their batiks are soft and easy to needle and they also have 108″ backings.  At this point, I think it would be a nice service to provide to my customers, so I will keep you up to date on when or if this will be a service I will add to my business.

Now that I am back in San Antonio, I have two customer quilts and two samples to prepare for the Houston International Quilt Show (one of my favorite quilt shops, The Quilt Haus, has a booth and this booth will have the two samples), so I am “off and running”. I also have another quilt coming in this week…thank you for your support! I love to quilt and I feel very blessed that I have the opportunity to quilt and embroider for other people.

Actions

Information

One response

20 10 2008
Eva Hathaway, Cucumber Quilting

Marion! What a fun and informative class you gave at Innovations. Since then I have been eagerly searching ideas for creating a blog and will be doing that soon. Thanks for all of your great advise. ~~ Our local group of longarm quilters had just committed to building a shared website and I couldn’t convince a single one of them (about 15 ladies and one gentleman) to consider blogging first. Oh well, perhaps they needed to have taken your great class to understand. Your enthusiasm was inspiring. Found a wonderful magazine at Barnes & Noble, Artful Blogging. Beautiful blogs that should make any quilt artist want to participate. Thanks again. Hope to see you again. Sincerely, Eva H.

Leave a Reply

