Magical Quilt Shop Tour Stop #2

20 06 2009

Over the past 3 weeks, we have been traveling up the California coast. We have stopped at Sequoiah and Yosemite National Parks as well as wine tours in Napa, CA. This week are beginning our tour of the Oregon coast, also known as the Emerald Coast. Our first stop has been here in Coos Bay, OR. This morning I had the opportunity to visit Threads That Bind at 120 Central in Coos Bay. The shop is located in the downtown area of the Coos Bay and you can easily walk to the boardwalk from the shop should you wish to do so.

I really enjoyed this shop! First, I found out the the owner is also an APQS representative and, since I have an APQS Liberty, I was really happy to have the opportunity to chat with her about the product. They sell Lennies (they also rent out time on the Lennies) and will have a George on site in the near future.

I bought two books, a pattern and a panel. Obviously, I have NO will power, LOL! The two books both are “big block” pattern books that use large patterned fabrics and will be quick to assemble. The pattern is for a journal cover and I could see this done using my new monogramming software for gifts for the upcoming holidays. Finally, the panel has a folk art feel that will allow me to quilt it in such a way that it will fool the eye of the beholder into thinking it has been pieced and appliqued.

There are many samples in this shop and great selection of patterns and fabrics. There is also a display of Bottom Line and Star machine quilting threads. I personally use the Star threads in my personal quilt piecing…I like it alot.

If you get to the Oregon Coast, make a stop in Coos Bay. You will not only enjoy the beauty of the area but also Threads that Bind.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

