Quilts and Folks

20 02 2010

Today I would like to share a quilt that I recently completed, a new product and brag on my community ed students.  I also want to tell you about Over the Top Quilting.

First, I would like to brag on Doug, a student in my class. He has just uploaded his first posts, along with several images, and I have to say, I am impressed. I can hardly wait to see the other students’ work…they are really an exceptional group of individuals.

Secondly, I HAVE to tell you about a quilt that I finished this week that was actually for ME! I never have the opportunity to do quilts for me so this was a real treat. The pattern is by the lovely ladies at Las Colchas, a quilt shop located in a historic home near downtown San Antonio. It is basically a bunkhouse with a twist…I think when you see the pictures, you will understand what I mean. with the 6.5 inch “logs” , it is a quick quilt to make and, with cool fabric, a joy to piece. I chose to use a new pantograph to quilt this quilt.  I am pointing it out because I think it would be great for tailored quilts,  quilts for the men in your life or for baby quilts. It is called Dutch and has a lovely open look to it. Oh, and I don’t want to forget Swirl Meanderings, the panto that I used on the image of the red, white and blue quilt…I think it is perfect for a man’s quilt or baby quilt, too. BTW, the beautiful quilt was made by Liz of Texas as a QOV…it is beautifully pieced.

I am adding a new product to my “stock”. You will notice that I now have embroidered greeting cards that are very affordable; I will have the price list on my pricing page. The designs that I have currently are birthday (2), thank you, congratulations, new baby, anniversary and many more. The designs are from

Finally, I have to mention a fun class that I attended in Austin with the two sisters who own Over the Top quilting. Susan Rubino and her sister, Chris, are adorable and VERY talented. If you live in the Austin area and are looking for longarmers, look no further than these two ladies who not only do custom and edge to edge, but also do a fantastic job with art quilts.

Actions

Information

One response

28 02 2010
Susan

Thanks for the kudos, Marion!! It was great fun having you in our class.

Leave a Reply

